Does The Ball Have To Bounce In Ping Pong?

No, the ball does not have to bounce when it is hit back and forth in table tennis.

However, if you let the ball hit your side of the table (the “table” surface with no net in between), there are restrictions on where you can hit it, depending on the type of serve.

If your opponent’s serve does not bounce before crossing into your side of the table (the “table” surface with no net in between), then you cannot hit it if it touches any part of your body.Ball Have To Bounce In Ping Pong

You must let it go past you, either by letting it bounce once on your side of the table (the “table” surface with no net in between) or by letting it bounce twice on your opponent’s side of the table.

If your opponent’s serve bounces before crossing into your side of the table, then you can hit it if it touches any part of your body.

You can hit it if it bounces on your side of the table, or you can hit it if it first bounces on your opponent’s side and then on your own.

If your opponent’s serve does not bounce before crossing into your side of the net but crosses outside of your opposite edge of the table (the long part that faces away from you), then you are not allowed to hit it. But if the ball touches your opponent’s side of the table first, you can still return it.

If your opponent’s serve is not below the waist when it crosses into your side of the table, then you cannot hit it. If you do it’s called a let (failure to make an effort). The only time you can hit this serve is if there is some external factor beyond your control, like if the wind carries the ball back across the net. If your opponent’s serve is caught below the waist when it crosses into your side of the table, you can hit it on your own terms, but if it bounces before crossing over to your side of the table, you have to let it bounce.

If a serve bounces twice on your opponent’s side of the table and is obviously heading out, you may not hit it. The only time you can is if your opponent lets his/her arm get in the way of the ball on purpose to slow down or stop its momentum then and there. Otherwise, that’s a let and the server gets another try at serving (alternatively, you could agree to play on and say it was just one bounce).

Note that there is no requirement about how high the ball must be when you hit it. If your opponent’s serve bounces before crossing into your side of the table, then you get to hit it on your own terms, but if any part of the ball crosses over then you must let its momentum continue and play the ball as it is.

This is the only situation where you can hit the ball twice or let it bounce more than once. You may not hit the ball again after letting it bounce if it rebounds off the net cord, sideline/end line, or anything else except your opponent’s body (intentional or not). If that happens then you lose a point. If your ball bounces in the right area then you may hit it again, but you must hit it before it stops bouncing.

This rule allows novices to get away with a lot of mistakes because the ball only needs to go back over the net. In any other situation in which you play a shot, there is no doubt that you need to hit the ball when it has bounced. In a table tennis match, if this rule was not in play, players would have to be much more careful about where they hit their returns because they would not be able to get away with sloppy shots.

Leave a Comment