The short answer to this question is no, the Ball Cannot Hit the net in ping pong.
Why The Ball Not Hit The Net In Ping Pong?
It can pass over it and bounce back down on your side of the table though. This is because the net only measures 2cm (0.79 inches) wide at any point; that’s too small an opening to allow a regulation-sized ping pong ball to pass through. In addition, the cord used for the net is 0.38mm thick, which means a ping pong ball coming from any direction would have no hope of getting through those tight wires.
Why Ping Pong Ball Bounce?
When you serve and send the ball over the net it will come down and bounce on your side because:
Try this experiment: run in front of a fan with a newspaper in your hand and see what happens. The paper will be moved away from you or pushed down by the air coming out of the fan – it’s called air resistance.
The same thing happens with a table tennis ball; it is also slowed down by air resistance (it becomes less easy to compress), and if it has spin, this makes the effects of the air even bigger.
If you are playing someone good, they are likely to have put so much topspin on it that your return will bounce high above your opponent’s too..!
Check also: Ping Pong Takeaway Menu | Manu & Order Online 2023
Dimensions For The Court That Is Used For Ping Pong
There are three main sizes of table tennis courts. These are the competitors playing areas for Table Tennis, also known as “ping pong.” The size of this area depends on the age group or skill level of the players who will be using it.
It is not possible for a ball to hit the net while playing ping pong. The rules of this sport state that if a player strikes the ball and it then makes contact with the opponent’s court or before it touches the ground, it is a point for their opponent.
Is It Possible For The Ball To Hit The Net When Playing Ping Pong?
The ball may hit the net but in a way that does not alter its course or prevent it from hitting either side of the table. The ball still has to be going fast enough for a player to return it, and if a player can’t return a shot there’s no point making the shot in the first place.
If your question is if the ball is allowed to go over the net, yes it’s allowed as long as your opponent can still return it.
The answer may vary between tables and tournaments if they have different rules, but in general, it’s fairly similar everywhere. It also depends a bit on what type of table tennis you’re playing since there are different types of tables.
I can’t speak for all tables and tournaments, but I’ll try to give a general answer that should be fairly accurate: The ball must not hit the net (or net posts) on its way over to your opponent. Whether it’s allowed to go above the net onto the opponent’s side is up to the opponent; if he or she chooses to let it go, then it’s allowed. If they choose not to, the ball must bounce twice on your side before you hit it over again. This is pretty much true for all of the table tennis unless stated otherwise.
I play in Canada, and I’ve never heard of anyone getting a point taken away if their ball hits the net. If this is true in your country or tournament, it’s at most an extremely minor mistake that would only be noticed by the most attentive observer.